Joomla 1.5 template design door Websitebird

    Want to ADVERTISE on this site send an email to


    Home About Central Bank of Kenya Central Bank of Kenya


    Central Bank of Kenya

    WaySearch Haile Selassie Avenue,
    P.O. Box 60000- Nairobi
    Phone: +254 20 2861000, +254 20 2860000
    Fax: +254 20 340192 , Telex 22324

    Central Bank of Kenya




    Governor and Chairman

    Prof. Njuguna Ndung'u,


    Deputy Governor and Deputy Chairman of the Board

    Dr. Hezron Nyangito,


    Director, Governors' Department and Secretary of the Board

    Mr.Kennedy Abuga,


    PS Treasury, Member

    Mr. Joseph Kinyua,



    Dr. William Otiende Ogara



    Mr. Nicholas Nesbitt



    Ms. Agnes Wanjiru



    Ms. Wanza Kioko,


    Senior Management


    Prof  Njuguna S. Ndung'u


    Deputy Governor

    Dr. Hezron Nyangito


    Director, Governors' Office

    Mr. Kennedy Kaunda Abuga


    Director, Finance, Resource Planning & Strategic Management:

    Mr. Aggrey Jonathan K. Bett


    Director, Bank Supervision Department

    Mr. Fredrick Pere


    Director, Human Resources and Administration Department

     Mr. Peter Rotich


    Director, Monetary Operations & Debt Management

    Mr. Jackson M. Kitili


    Director Banking, National Payments Systems

     Mr. Gerald Arita Nyaoma


    Director of Internal Audit and Risk Management

    Mr. William Nyagaka


    Director, Deposit Protection Fund Board

    Ms Rose Alex Detho,


    Director, Department of Estates, Supplies and Transport (DEST)

     Mr. Cassian Juma Nyanjwa


    Director, Currency Operations & Branch Administration

    Mr. James Teko Lopoyetum


    Director, Research:

    Mr. Charles Gitari Koori


    Executive Director, Kenya School of Monetary Studies

    Prof. Kinandu Muragu (PhD)




    Head Office

    Central Bank of Kenya

    Haile Selassie Avenue, Nairobi
    P.O. Box 60000-0200
    Tel+254 20 2861000, +254 20 2860000

    Fax +254 20 340192





    Central Bank of Kenya

    Nkrumah Road, Mombasa
    P.O. Box 86372
    Tel+254 41 2230954/5-9

    Fax +254 41 222524





    Central Bank of Kenya

    Jomo Kenyatta Highway, Kisumu
    P.O. Box 4,
    Tel+254 57 2020128

    Fax+254 57 45386



    Central Bank of Kenya

    Uganda Road, Eldoret
    P.O. Box 2710,
    Tel+254 53 2033325/6-9

    Fax +254 53 2061052/ 2061212



    Background Information


    The Central Bank of Kenya was established in 1966 through an Act of Parliament - the Central Bank of Kenya Act of 1966.

    The establishment of the Bank was a direct result of the desire among the three East African states to have independent monetary and financial policies. This led to the collapse of the East Africa Currency Board (EACB) in mid 1960s.

    Stucture of the Bank

    Under the Central Bank of Kenya Act, the responsibility for determining the policy of the Bank, other than the formulation of monetary policy, is given to the Board of Directors. The Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank is responsible for formulating monetary policy.

    The Board of Directors of the Bank consists of eight members:-

    • the Governor, who is also its chairman
    • the Deputy Governor, who is the deputy chairman
    • the Permanent Secretary to the Treasury who is a non-voting member
    • five other non- executive directors

    All members are appointed by the President to hold office for a term of four years and are eligible for reappointment once, provided that a Board member shall hold office for not more than two terms. The executive management team comprises the Governor, the Deputy Governor and fifteen heads of department who report to the Governor. The Bank operates from its head office in Nairobi and has branch offices in Mombasa, Kisumu and Eldoret. The Bank also owns the Kenya School of Monetary Studies (KSMS) which is headed by an executive director answerable to the Governor.



    Vision Statement

    To be a World Class Modern Central Bank

    Mandate of the Bank

    Section 4 of the Central Bank of Kenya Act states the core mandate of the Bank as follows: (1) To formulate and implement monetary policy directed to achieving and maintaining stability in the general level of prices; (2) To foster the liquidity, solvency and proper functioning of a stable market- based financial system; and (3) subject to (1) and (2), To support the economic policy of the Government, including its objectives for growth and employment.


    Subsidiary Mandate of CBK

    The other objectives of the Bank are enumerated under Section 4A of the Act, and empower the Bank to :-

    • Formulate and implement foreign exchange policy
    • Hold and manage its foreign exchange reserves;
    • License and supervise authorized dealers;
    • Formulate and implement such policies that best promote the establishment regulation and supervision of efficient and effective payment, clearing and settlement systems;
    • Act as banker and adviser to, and as fiscal agent of the Government; and
    • Issue currency notes and coins.

    In pursuit of the above outlined mandate, the Central Bank operations are organized into the following functional areas:


    Date added: 2010-03-09 04:03:26    Hits: 2429
    Powered by Sigsiu.NET RSS Feeds